The video tutorial helps you understand how to manage email conversations in Gmail.
To maximize the benefits of using Gmail, it’s important to learn using all the key features it has to offer. If you are yet to know it, Gmail clubs all the replies to an email message with the original message. Since it looks like a thread, it’s called a conversation. In a single conversation, all the messages are grouped as one on top of another, with the most recent one at the top. You should learn how to manage these email conversations in Gmail.
Here’s what you need to know –
1. To start with, you should understand how to select conversations in different ways. Depending on what you exactly need, you can select conversations either individually or accumulatively. To select a single conversation, you can use the checkbox against that particular conversation. If you want to select all the conversations displaying on the page, you can click All option available just above the emails.
2. Likewise, you can use the Read and Unread features to view those email conversations that have been read and that are yet to be read respectively. If there are some conversations that you feel are very important, you should use the starring feature for marking.
3. The More Actions menu also helps you perform a range of tasks like Mark as unread, Add to Tasks, Remove star, Filter messages like these and Mute. For example, if you mark a specific conversation as unread, it will immediately appear in bold fonts.
4. Gmail also offers you Archive feature. By archiving conversations, you’ll have them disappear from the inbox. However, the archived messages still exist and can be found everywhere else than the inbox. You can view all the archived messages under All Mail.
5. You can also delete one or more email conversations. If you choose to delete a conversation, it won’t be found anywhere else but the Trash. Gmail wants a confirmation before it deletes a conversation. If you go to the Trash folder, you’ll see an Empty Trash Now link, which if clicked will removed all the deleted emails from your Gmail account forever. Trashed messages can be moved back to the inbox as well. But remember that any trashed conversation that’s more than 30 days old will be automatically deleted.
6. The Report Spam feature provides you with the option to send a spammy message to the spam folder. To do it, all you need to do is select the spam message and then click the Report Spam button. Again, any spam message that’s more than 30 days old will be automatically deleted. You can reverse the spam marking action using the Not Spam button.
That’s how you can manage all your email conversations effectively while using Gmail. All you need to do is to select or open a specific conversation and then start using the functions as required.